top of page

Sun, Aug 11

|

Juliet Social Club

All She Wrote x Juliet Book Club — August

Want to read great books with a community of engaged book lovers? Join one of our monthly book clubs, co-hosted by Juliet Somerville!

All She Wrote x Juliet Book Club — August
All She Wrote x Juliet Book Club — August

Time & Location

Aug 11, 2024, 10:30 AM – 12:00 PM

Juliet Social Club, 257 Washington St, Somerville, MA 02143, USA

About the Event

Join All She Wrote Books on Sunday, August 11th at 10:30am at Juliet Social Club for a discussion of Welcome to Forever with author Nathan Tavares! This sweeping, psychedelic romance of two men caught in a looping world of artificial realities, edited memories, secretive cabals and conspiracies to push humanity to the next step in its evolution. Seats are limited, so snag yours quick! 

Worried about finding the book? We've got you covered! Grab a copy through registration for the event, at Bookshop.org, or Libro.fm.

Can't make it? No worries! Let us know ASAP so we can release your spot to someone eagerly waiting on the waitlist. Don't miss out- register now!

Remember: This event has limited capacity, so grab your ticket and claim your seat before it's too late! We can't wait to see you there! ✨

About the Book

A sweeping, psychedelic romance of two men caught in a looping world of artificial realities, edited memories, secretive cabals and conspiracies to push humanity to the next step in its evolution. For fans of Tomorrow and Tomorrow and Tomorrow, Ubik, The Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind and Evangelion. Fox is a memory editor – one of the best – gifted with the skill to create real life in the digital world. When he wakes up in Field of Reeds Center for Memory Reconstruction with no idea how he got there, the therapists tell him he was a victim in a terrorist bombing by Khadija Banks, the pioneer of memory editing technology turned revolutionary. A bombing which shredded the memory archives of all its victims, including his husband Gabe. Thrust into reconstructions of his memories exploded from the fragments that survived the blast, Fox tries to rebuild his life, his marriage and himself. But he quickly realises his world is changing, unreliable, and echoing around itself over and over.  As he unearths endless cycles of meeting Gabe, falling in love and breaking up, Fox digs deep into his past, his time in the refugee nation of Aaru, and the exact nature of his relationship with Khadija. Because, in a world tearing itself apart to forget all its sadness, saving the man he loves might be the key to saving us all.

About the Author

Nathan Tavares is a writer from Boston, Massachusetts. He grew up in the Portuguese-American community of southeastern Massachusetts and developed a love for fantastical stories at an early age, from superheroes to mythology. He studied English in college and received his MFA in creative writing from Lesley University in Cambridge, Massachusetts. His editorial work celebrates queer culture and historically excluded communities, with pieces appearing in GQ, Out, and elsewhere.

Our Book Club Guidelines

  • We strive for a thoughtful and respectful discussion of the featured book and its related themes.
  • You do not have to have finished the book to participate, but we ask that you contribute to the discussion in whatever way you feel comfortable.
  • We do not tolerate demeaning, discriminatory, or harassing behavior and speech.

Tickets

  • Ticket + Book

    *Please read: Includes general admission to our Juliet Book Club and 1 copy of Welcome to Forever, to be picked up at All She Wrote Books (75 Washington St in Somerville). You will notified by email and phone when your book club order is ready for pickup. (Price includes $1.12 sales tax)

    $19.11
  • Ticket (No Book)

    **PLEASE READ**: Entry for 1 person to the Juliet Book Club. Includes breakfast and coffee served at the event.

    $5.00

Total

$0.00

Share This Event

bottom of page