ISBN 9781250062383, 1250062381
Trade Paperback | 368 pages

 

From a Pultizer Prize–winning reporter comes "a book for Lean In fans, and everyone who feels overwhelmed" (Booklist), now a New York Times bestseller.

 

According to the leisure studies department at the University of Iowa, true leisure is "that place in which we realize our humanity." If that's true, argues Brigid Schulte, then we're doing dangerously little to realize it.

In Overwhelmed, Schulte asks the question that haunts many working parents: whether our brains, our partners, our culture, and our bosses make it impossible for us to experience anything but "contaminated time." Seeking insights, answers, and inspiration, Schulte speaks to neuroscientists, sociologists, and—above all—parents and teases out the factors that contribute to our collective sense of being overwhelmed. She investigates progressive offices trying to invent a new kind of workplace; she travels across Europe to get a sense of how other countries accommodate working parents; she finds younger couples who claim to have figured out an ideal division of chores, child care, and meaningful paid work. Overwhelmed is the story of what she discovered—that our way of living isn't living at all—and a map towards a stress-free future.

• New York Times bestseller
• Includes new material
• For readers of Sheryl Sandberg and Pamela Druckerman

Overwhelmed by Brigid Schulte

SKU: 9781250062383
$18.00Price

    All She Wrote Books

    451 Artisan Way

    Somerville, MA 02145

    (617)-440-4623

    christina@allshewrotebooks.com

    Socials

    Be The First To Know

    Sign up for our newsletter

    © 2023 by All She Wrote Books. Proudly created with Wix.com