ISBN 9781250094735, 1250094739
Trade Paperback | 432 pages
 

Stories from a lost American classic "in the same arena as Alice Munro" (Lydia Davis)


A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

 

"In the field of short fiction, Lucia Berlin is one of America's best kept secrets. That's it. Flat out. No mitigating conditions."—Paul Metcalf

 

A Manual for Cleaning Women compiles the best work of the legendary short-story writer Lucia Berlin. With the grit of Raymond Carver, the humor of Grace Paley, and a blend of wit and melancholy all her own, Berlin crafts miracles from the everyday, uncovering moments of grace in the Laundromats and halfway houses of the American Southwest, in the homes of the Bay Area upper class, among switchboard operators and struggling mothers, hitchhikers and bad Christians.

 

Readers will revel in this remarkable collection from a master of the form and wonder how they'd ever overlooked her in the first place.

 

• For readers of Lydia Davis and Alice Munro

A Manual for Cleaning Women by Lucia Berlin

SKU: 9781250094735
$18.00Price

    All She Wrote Books

    451 Artisan Way

    Somerville, MA 02145

    (617)-440-4623

    christina@allshewrotebooks.com

    Socials

    Be The First To Know

    Sign up for our newsletter

    © 2023 by All She Wrote Books. Proudly created with Wix.com